What a second costs on Sora
Sora (developers.openai.com) publishes a per-second figure for two models: $0.10 a second for sora-2 at 720p, and $0.30 to $0.70 for sora-2-pro from 720p to 1080p. A batch tier halves every one of those figures. As of 2026-09-12.
| Tier | In credits | Per second | Longest clip |
|---|---|---|---|
| sora-2 720p | - | $0.10 | not stated |
| sora-2-pro 720p | - | $0.30 | not stated |
| sora-2-pro 1024p | - | $0.50 | not stated |
| sora-2-pro 1080p | - | $0.70 | not stated |
| Batch tier, every model | - | half the figure above | not stated |
Inclusion rule. Tiers the vendor publishes a per-second rate for. A tier priced only as a monthly allowance is not converted and does not get a row. Order. As the vendor orders them on its own page.
1How many priced tiers each channel publishes
| Channel | Priced tiers published |
|---|---|
| Dreamina | 1 tier |
| fal | 4 tiers |
| Kling AI | 3 tiers |
| LTX Studio | 1 tier |
| MiniMax | 4 tiers |
| Novita AI | 5 tiers |
| PixVerse | 4 tiers |
| Replicate | 3 tiers |
| Runware | 8 tiers |
| Runway | 1 tier |
| SceneMixer | 11 tiers |
| Sora | 5 tiers |
| Veo | 7 tiers |
| Vidu | 3 tiers |
| Wan | 3 tiers |
| WaveSpeed AI | 7 tiers |
Inclusion rule. Channels that publish a per-second rate, or a credit rate together with a credit price. Tiers are counted as the pricing page itself breaks them out. Order. Alphabetical by channel name.
2The batch tier is the largest single lever on this channel
Halving the rate is a bigger move than any resolution step and bigger than the gap between most channels here. What it asks for in return is tolerance of a slower turnaround, which a production generating a season in advance can usually give and a production reacting to notes cannot.
That makes the choice a scheduling decision rather than a purchasing one. A shot list locked a week before it is needed is worth half the rate; the same shot list locked the night before is not.

3Resolution steps are steeper here than the family name suggests
Within sora-2-pro the ladder runs $0.30, $0.50, $0.70 across three resolutions, so moving from 720p to 1080p multiplies the bill by more than two. For vertical delivery to a phone that step buys pixels the delivery path frequently re-encodes away.
The dearest published second in this entire ledger sits on this channel. It is worth saying plainly that the figure is a list price for one resolution on one model, not a statement about what the channel costs to use.
4What the price page does not settle
No maximum duration appears beside the rates, so the clip column is recorded as not stated. Nothing on the page addresses whether a refused or failed generation is billed, which leaves that question open on this channel in the way it is open on most.
A consumer application exists alongside the API and is sold on a different basis. Its allowance is not a per-second rate and is not converted here.
5Sources
Read from the API prices published at developers.openai.com, checked 2026-09-12. How credits are converted to dollars is on the method page; every channel side by side is on the ledger. What Sora publishes in the other columns: step up in resolution, condition on the figure. Next along the ledger: Wan, PixVerse.
- sora-2 at 720p$0.10 per second
- sora-2-pro at 720p$0.30 per second
- sora-2-pro at 1080p$0.70 per secondthe dearest published second in this ledger
- The batch tierHalf the standard figureon every Sora model and resolution