What a second costs on Veo
Veo (ai.google.dev) is priced per second on Google's Gemini API page across three tiers, from $0.05 a second on Lite at 720p to $0.60 on Standard at 4K. Audio is included in the figure, and the page states that a generation is charged only when it succeeds. As of 2026-09-12.
| Tier | In credits | Per second | Longest clip |
|---|---|---|---|
| Veo 3.1 Lite 720p | - | $0.05 | not stated |
| Veo 3.1 Lite 1080p | - | $0.08 | not stated |
| Veo 3.1 Fast 720p | - | $0.10 | not stated |
| Veo 3.1 Fast 1080p | - | $0.12 | not stated |
| Veo 3.1 Fast 4K | - | $0.30 | not stated |
| Veo 3.1 Standard 720p and 1080p | - | $0.40 | not stated |
| Veo 3.1 Standard 4K | - | $0.60 | not stated |
Inclusion rule. Tiers the vendor publishes a per-second rate for. A tier priced only as a monthly allowance is not converted and does not get a row. Order. As the vendor orders them on its own page.
1How many priced tiers each channel publishes
| Channel | Priced tiers published |
|---|---|
| Dreamina | 1 tier |
| fal | 4 tiers |
| Kling AI | 3 tiers |
| LTX Studio | 1 tier |
| MiniMax | 4 tiers |
| Novita AI | 5 tiers |
| PixVerse | 4 tiers |
| Replicate | 3 tiers |
| Runware | 8 tiers |
| Runway | 1 tier |
| SceneMixer | 11 tiers |
| Sora | 5 tiers |
| Veo | 7 tiers |
| Vidu | 3 tiers |
| Wan | 3 tiers |
| WaveSpeed AI | 7 tiers |
Inclusion rule. Channels that publish a per-second rate, or a credit rate together with a credit price. Tiers are counted as the pricing page itself breaks them out. Order. Alphabetical by channel name.
2Three tiers that differ by a factor of eight
Lite, Fast and Standard are the same family at three prices, and at matching resolution the span from the cheapest to the dearest is eightfold. That is a larger gap than exists between most separate channels in this ledger, which makes the tier decision on this one channel worth more attention than a comparison against another vendor.
The resolution ladder inside each tier is gentler: Lite moves from $0.05 to $0.08 between 720p and 1080p, and Fast from $0.10 to $0.12. A production shipping vertical episodes to a phone is therefore choosing mostly between tiers, not between resolutions.

3A published answer to the question most pages leave open
The page states that a video is charged only when it is generated successfully. Very few pricing pages in this field say anything at all about a failed generation, and this ledger keeps that as its own column precisely because the silence is common.
It matters more than its size suggests. A rate that bills every attempt and a rate that bills only delivered output are not the same rate, and the difference is the attempt ratio, which is the largest uncontrolled number in a generated production.
4What the price page leaves out
No maximum clip length appears beside the rates, so that column is recorded as not stated rather than filled in from a product page describing a different surface. Audio being included is stated, which removes a line item that has to be priced separately elsewhere.
Veo is reachable through more than one product, and the figures here are the API prices. A consumer subscription that includes some amount of generation is a different unit and is not converted into this table.
5Sources
Read from the Gemini API prices published at ai.google.dev, checked 2026-09-12. How credits are converted to dollars is on the method page; every channel side by side is on the ledger. What Veo publishes in the other columns: step up in resolution. Families Veo prices, set against every other seller of the same weights: Veo. Next along the ledger: Sora, Wan.
- Veo 3.1 Lite$0.05 per secondthe lowest published Veo rate
- Veo 3.1 Fast at 720p$0.10 per second
- Veo 3.1 Standard at 720p and 1080p$0.40 per second
- Veo 3.1 Standard at 4K$0.60 per second
- What a failed generation costsCharged only when the video is generated successfullystated on the price page