RenderDrama

What a second of AI video costs, channel by channel

Higgsfield alternatives, read against the second

Two tools get named as Higgsfield alternatives often enough to check: Pika and Luma. Read on their own pages, neither prices a finished second. Higgsfield's own page prices credits per generation, which vary by model. What a second costs is printed by other channels entirely. As of 2026-10-13.

What a price on a vendor page is attached toThree ways a page can meter the same work. A plan price buys access for a month. A credit count attached to a generation varies by model. A credit rate attached to a second, with the credit price printed beside it, is the only one of the three that a shot list can be multiplied against.What the price is attached toA month of accessA plan priceAffordable or not, andnothing about a finishedsecond.One generationCredits per generationVaries by model, so thesame minutes costdifferent counts.One finished secondCredits a secondConverts into money wherethe credit price isprinted too.Three shapes, three different questions answered
Fig. 1 The question when changing tools is which of the three a page prints, not which plan costs least.

1What this ledger already records

The lines this ledger already carries that speak to a switch: what a second costs where a channel prints one, and what an unspent credit does afterwards.

  • What Luma publishes instead of a rate
    Credits per second, with no credit priceLuma, pricing page / recorded 2026-09-12
  • What Pika publishes instead of a rate
    Credits by feature, with no credit pricePika, pricing page / recorded 2026-09-12
  • Unused credits
    Every paid plan carries the feature line purchase more roll over video creditsas a plan feature linePika, pricing page / recorded 2026-09-16
  • Unused credits
    Standard and Pro monthly credits do not roll over and reset within 24 hours of the billing date; on Max up to one month of unused credits rolls over; separately purchased credits never expireanswered per planRunway, plans page / recorded 2026-09-16
  • Unused credits
    Monthly membership credits are added to the balance and spend like purchased credits; cancelling stops renewal at the end of the paid periodanswered under its own headingSceneMixer, price list / recorded 2026-09-16
  • Wan 3.0 480P
    10 credits per second, about $0.06the default tierSceneMixer, price list / recorded 2026-09-12
  • Wan 3.0 720P
    19 credits per second, about $0.12SceneMixer, price list / recorded 2026-09-12
  • Wan 3.0 1080P
    38 credits per second, about $0.24SceneMixer, price list / recorded 2026-09-12
  • Credit price
    One credit costs $0.0149 in the smallest pack and $0.0078 in the largestthe range the conversion rests onSceneMixer, price list / recorded 2026-09-12
  • Longest single clip
    30 seconds on the Wan 3.0 and Seedance 2.5 tiers, 15 seconds on the Seedance 2.0 and MiniMax H3 tiersstated per tierSceneMixer, price list / recorded 2026-10-13

2What Higgsfield's page prints, and what it leaves as a variable

The pricing page at higgsfield.ai runs Starter at $19 a month billed monthly and Plus at $59, or $47 billed annually, with a one-time pack of 40 credits for $3. Video is metered in credits per generation, and the page says that count varies by model; some models carry time-limited unlimited access on a plan. Read closely, that page prices access rather than output.

Length is stated, at least: Cinema Studio clips up to 30 seconds and takes up to 50 references. So the same two minutes of finished picture is a different number of generations on two different models, and there is no dollar figure on a generation or on a second. A production budgeting from that page has to choose a model first and then count generations, not seconds.

3The two names that come up, read the same way

Pika starts at $10 a month with 900 credits and reaches $35 with 3,150; top-ups run from $25 for 1,500 credits, and the page states the rate as 60 credits per $1 on every plan. That last number matters more here than the plan prices: a credit price is the half of the arithmetic every credits-per-second page is missing, and Pika prints one even though its own features are counted rather than its seconds.

Luma is recorded on this ledger for the opposite reason: its page meters in credits per second and prints no credit price, so the second cannot be turned into dollars from the page alone. Its higher plans carry 10,000 and 40,000 credits with commercial use and HDR output on Ray3.2, which are plan features rather than a rate.

4Unspent credits, which is where a stop-start production loses money

A rate per second describes what a generation costs. What an unspent balance costs is a second question, and it is the one that bites a production shooting in bursts: buy a month of credits, shoot three days, and the rest either survives or does not. The fact list at the top of this page carries what each page in this register says about it, in the vendor's own wording.

Two of the three makers here put something in writing. Higgsfield's plan text says individual plan credits reset each month. Pika sells its credits as a feature line that rolls over. The third reading in that list belongs to a different channel and is worth carrying into any comparison, because a plan whose balance resets is a use-it-or-lose-it budget however low its rate looks.

5Where a second can be multiplied at all

The ledger's own channels are the other half of this comparison. Where a channel publishes a credit rate per second and a credit price beside it, a script's seconds convert into money before anything is generated; where a page prices credits per generation that vary by model, the number arrives after the fact. Both are legitimate ways to sell, and only one of them can be budgeted from a shot list.

So the practical test when leaving Higgsfield is not which alternative is cheaper per month. It is which page lets you write down a figure per finished second, at the resolution you will deliver at, before the first generation is paid for. The remaining pages in this column apply that test to other tools.

6What each maker prints on its own pages

What each maker's own page says about a second, read 2026-10-13.
MakerWhat its own page statesChecked
HiggsfieldStarter $19/month billed monthly; Plus $59/month, or $47/month billed annually; a $3 one-time pack with 40 credits Credits per generation vary by model; plans include time-limited “unlimited” access to some models2026-10-13
LumaPlus $30/month with 10,000 credits and commercial use; Pro $90 with 40,0002026-10-13
PikaFree: credit packs only; Starter $10/month with 900 credits; Creator $35/month with 3,1502026-10-13
SceneMixer“The Seedance 2.0 tiers render segments up to 15 seconds; use a Seedance 2.5 or Wan tier for 30-second takes.”2026-10-13

Inclusion rule. Rows are the makers named on this page plus one pipeline this register meters seconds on. A maker's cell carries its own price line, summarised in that page's wording; the pipeline's cell is one sentence quoted from its published guides. A page that carries no figure for the point is recorded that way rather than estimated. Order. Alphabetical by maker.

What each channel puts on its pricing pageFilled where the channel publishes something in that column, hollow where its pricing page is silent.What each channel puts on its pricing pageHiggsfieldLumaPikaWhat starts a paid planWhat starts a paid plan — Higgsfield: Starter at $19 a month, Plus at $59 or $47 billed annuallyWhat starts a paid plan — Luma: Plus at $30 a month with 10,000 creditsWhat starts a paid plan — Pika: Starter at $10 a month with 900 creditsCan a second be computedCan a second be computed — Higgsfield: No: credits per generation, varying by modelCan a second be computed — Luma: No: credits per second with no credit price printedCan a second be computed — Pika: No: credits attached to features, though a credit price is printedOne face across shotsOne face across shots — Higgsfield: Soul ID trains an identity from 20 or more photosOne face across shots — Luma: Not stated on the pricing page readOne face across shots — Pika: Not stated on the pricing page readLongest single generationLongest single generation — Higgsfield: Up to 30 seconds in Cinema StudioLongest single generation — Luma: Not stated on the pricing page readLongest single generation — Pika: Not stated on the pricing page read
Fig. 2 Filled where the channel publishes something in that column, hollow where its pricing page is silent.
Channels publishing each figureHow many channels publish something in each column. Counted from the rows below, nothing inferred.Channels publishing each figureHiggsfield4 of 4Luma2 of 4Pika2 of 4
Fig. 3 How many channels publish something in each column. Counted from the rows below, nothing inferred.
Three pages, four questions each, read 2026-10-13.
Read onHiggsfieldLumaPika
What starts a paid planStarter at $19 a month, Plus at $59 or $47 billed annuallyPlus at $30 a month with 10,000 creditsStarter at $10 a month with 900 credits
Can a second be computedNo: credits per generation, varying by modelNo: credits per second with no credit price printedNo: credits attached to features, though a credit price is printed
One face across shotsSoul ID trains an identity from 20 or more photosNot stated on the pricing page readNot stated on the pricing page read
Longest single generationUp to 30 seconds in Cinema StudioNot stated on the pricing page readNot stated on the pricing page read

Inclusion rule. Questions this ledger would ask of any pricing page, answered from the maker's own page. A question the page read does not address is written as not stated there, which is a reading of the page rather than a claim about the product. Order. As the questions are listed above.

7What the threads counted

The r/aivideo material collected for this column counts posts and comment mentions by maker, and the comparisons people run. Both lines below name Higgsfield.

Posts and comment mentions for the makers read, collected 2026-10-14.
MakerPostsComment mentionsPositiveNegative
Higgsfield3772793129122

Inclusion rule. Makers named on this page that the collection counted. Positive and negative tally the posts read, and a post arguing with itself can land in both. Order. Descending by posts.

How often two names came up against each other in the material read.
NameAgainstTimesWhat the argument is about
HiggsfieldKling61Counted without a note

Inclusion rule. Pairs that name a maker on this page and carry a count in the collection. Order. Descending by the count.

Is Higgsfield actually worth it or a scam?

r/generativeAI, collected 2026-10-14

8When the other tool is the better buy

  • You want one agent to plan and run the shoot — Higgsfield's Supercomputer runs a production from a single chat and Cinema Studio takes up to 50 references, which is a campaign shoot rather than a serial.
  • The face is trained once and reused from photos — Soul ID builds a persistent identity from 20 or more reference photos, a different answer to the same problem this register tracks as reference sheets.
  • A published credit price is what the budget needs — Pika states 60 credits per $1 on every plan, which lets a pack be audited after the fact even though its own feature list is priced by feature.

Searches like "higgsfield alternative cheaper" land here. Beside it: Higgsfield against Runway and Krea against the second.