RenderDrama

What a second of AI video costs, channel by channel

What one credit costs on Runway

Runway states a cent a credit on the same page as its twelve-credits-a-second rate, which multiplies out to twelve cents a second. Both halves in one place is the shortest path from a credit figure to money in this register. As of 2026-09-22.

From a credit figure to money in one pageA cent a credit and twelve credits a second appear on the same page, so the multiplication to twelve cents a second is the seller's own rather than one performed here. The plans page then attaches three different expiry rules to the credits, which turns one printed rate into two real ones.Price of acreditOne cent,stated on thepage thatcarries therate.An exchange rateRate in creditsTwelve creditsfor one secondof deliveredoutput.A quantityMultiplied outTwelve cents asecond, withnothinginferred onthis side ofthe page.A checkable rateExpiry on theplansTwo plans resetwithin a day ofbilling; onecarries amonth;purchases neverlapse.
Fig. 1 Twelve cents a second is exact for credits bought outright and a floor for credits arriving with a monthly allowance that resets.
The two figures Runway prints together, and the rate they produce. Read from API price page on 2026-09-22.
What is publishedAs the API price page states it
Price of a creditOne cent, on the same page as the rate
RateTwelve credits a second
Multiplied outTwelve cents a second of output
What the plans page addsCredit expiry rules that differ by plan

Inclusion rule. Figures on the API price page that complete the conversion. The consumer plans page is a separate document and appears here only where it bears on the credits themselves. Order. The credit price first, then the rate, then the product.

1Where Runway sits in this column

Whether the price of a credit is publishedWhether each channel that meters in credits also prints what one credit costs, Runway marked. A hollow mark means the second half of the rate is missing. Recorded 2026-09-22.Whether the price of a credit is publishedPrice of a creditHedraHedra — Price of a credit: Not stated, but the plans divide outLumaLuma — Price of a credit: Not stated, though the rate is per secondPikaPika — Price of a credit: Not stated, and the rate is per featurePixVersePixVerse — Price of a credit: 225 credits to the dollar, one referenceRunwayRunway — Price of a credit: One cent, stated beside the rateSceneMixerSceneMixer — Price of a credit: $0.0149 down to $0.0078 by pack
Fig. 2 Whether each channel that meters in credits also prints what one credit costs, Runway marked. A hollow mark means the second half of the rate is missing. Recorded 2026-09-22.
Price of a credit, as each channel answering it has it, with Runway marked. Recorded 2026-09-22.
ChannelPrice of a credit
HedraNot stated, but the plans divide out
LumaNot stated, though the rate is per second
PikaNot stated, and the rate is per feature
PixVerse225 credits to the dollar, one reference
RunwayOne cent, stated beside the rate
SceneMixer$0.0149 down to $0.0078 by pack

Inclusion rule. Channels that meter in credits. Whether the credit price is published decides whether anything on that page converts into money, so both answers are listed. Order. Alphabetical by channel name.

2Two halves on one page is rarer than it should be

A credit rate and a credit price are both short sentences. Printing them together is what separates a page that can be quoted from one that has to be reconciled across two documents, and most credit pages in this register do not.

The benefit shows up in disputes rather than in budgets. Twelve cents a second is not an estimate produced here; it is the seller's own multiplication, and a reader who disagrees with it disagrees with the seller.

3The clean conversion sits on top of a messy expiry rule

The credit price is flat and the credit lifetime is not: two plans reset the allowance within a day of the billing date, one carries a month forward, and credits bought separately never lapse. So twelve cents a second is exact for purchased credits and a floor for allowance credits.

That makes this channel two products at one printed rate. The developer buying credits outright pays what the page says; the subscriber paying monthly pays the page's figure divided by whatever share of the allowance actually gets used.

4A cent is a round number, which usually means a designed one

Credit currencies exist to decouple a seller's prices from its costs, and pinning a credit at exactly one cent gives that up almost entirely. The currency then does nothing except let the rate be quoted in whole numbers.

It is a reader's gain either way. Where a credit is a round fraction of a dollar, every rate on the page can be checked in one step, and nothing about the pricing depends on understanding the currency first.

  • Published per-second price
    12 credits per second at $0.01 a credit, which is $0.12 per secondRunway, API prices / recorded 2026-09-12
  • Unused credits
    Standard and Pro monthly credits do not roll over and reset within 24 hours of the billing date; on Max up to one month of unused credits rolls over; separately purchased credits never expireanswered per planRunway, plans page / recorded 2026-09-16

5Sources

Read from the API price page published at docs.dev.runwayml.com on 2026-09-22. The rate this column sits beside is on Runway; what the register accepts as published is on the method page. The same column on other channels: Luma, Pika. Every column: what each channel publishes.