RenderDrama

What a second of AI video costs, channel by channel

What a second of Veo 3 costs, on each page that prints a figure

Google's API page prints Veo by tier: $0.05 a second on Veo 3.1 Lite, $0.10 on Fast at 720p, $0.40 on Standard and $0.60 at 4K, charged only when a video is generated. Flow sells the same models as a subscription metered in credits, which is a different product. As of 2026-10-13.

One model line, two productsGoogle's API pricing page prices a second of Veo by tier and charges only on success. Flow sells the same models as a subscription metered in credits, with an allowance that resets daily on the free tier. The two pages answer different questions, and only one of them yields a rate.The API pageThe subscriptionWhat is pricedOne second of output, by tierA month of access, in creditsWhat a buyer multipliesA rate by the seconds a script needsAn allowance by the work it has to coverWhat the page says aboutfailureCharged only when the video is generatedNot stated on the page readSame models, two ways to pay
Fig. 1 A subscription cannot be divided into a per-second figure without guessing how much of it gets used.

1What this ledger already records

Every Veo figure this register holds: the four API tiers, the billing condition that travels with them, and the two reseller figures with the basis one of them states.

2The API rate, tier by tier

Google's API pricing page prints a figure against each Veo tier: $0.05 a second on Veo 3.1 Lite, $0.10 on Fast at 720p, $0.40 on Standard across 720p and 1080p, and $0.60 on Standard at 4K. A twelvefold spread sits inside one model line, and the tier table is the only place it appears — a comparison that quotes one Veo price has quoted a choice somebody made inside the ladder.

The same page carries the one billing condition in this register that prices failure correctly: the charge lands only when the video is generated successfully. For a production discarding attempts, that line is worth more than a small discount on the rate, and it is the kind of sentence a budget should quote back when a vendor's figure looks higher than a competitor's.

3What a Flow subscription prices instead

Flow sells the same models inside a subscription: free with a Google account at 50 daily credits, Google AI Plus at $4.99 a month adding 200 monthly credits, AI Pro at $19.99 adding 1,000, and AI Ultra at $99.99 adding 10,000. Characters and avatars are generated from references, which is the subscription's answer to keeping a face across shots.

Nothing on that page converts a credit into a second, and the page says its features vary by subscription tier, platform and region. So the two Google pages describe two products: access with a credit allowance, and output priced by the second. This ledger records only the second as a rate, and treats the subscription the way it treats every monthly allowance — as something that cannot be divided into a per-second figure without guessing how much of it gets used.

4The same model, two resellers, and the basis one of them prints

fal prints $0.4 a second for Veo 3 and states the ground its figures rest on: an estimated average video of 5 seconds at 720p, with actual output varying by model, resolution and prompt complexity. WaveSpeed prints $0.15 a second for Veo 3.1 Fast. Read beside Google's own $0.10 for Fast at 720p, the three figures describe three different things, and only one of them says so.

That is the whole argument for a basis column. A figure with a stated assumption can be challenged and corrected; a figure without one cannot, and it will usually be the one quoted in a comparison. Where a reseller's page names a model version and a tier, this register records both, because the same model name at a different resolution is a different price.

5What the threads ask about Veo now

The r/aivideo material collected for this column counts Veo posts, comment mentions and the share of model names read; the tables below carry the figures as counted. The threads themselves have moved from what Veo can do to whether people are still using it, and a second theme asks whether a cheaper version with free tries would bring them back.

Neither question is answerable from a price page, and this page does not pretend otherwise. What can be said from published material is narrower: the API figure is unchanged and tiered, the subscription allowance resets daily and monthly, and the condition on failed generations still stands in Veo's favour against most of the register.

6What each maker prints on its own pages

What each maker's own page says about a second, read 2026-10-13.
MakerWhat its own page statesChecked
Google FlowNot stated on the pages read2026-10-13
SceneMixer“480P is the default and is genuinely fine on a phone; 720P is the usual upgrade when the series is working.”2026-10-13

Inclusion rule. Rows are the makers named on this page plus one pipeline this register meters seconds on. A maker's cell carries its own price line, summarised in that page's wording; the pipeline's cell is one sentence quoted from its published guides. A page that carries no figure for the point is recorded that way rather than estimated. Order. Alphabetical by maker.

7What the threads counted

Two kinds of number below: what the threads posted about Veo, and how much of the model material read in that subreddit named it.

Posts and comment mentions for the makers read, collected 2026-10-14.
MakerPostsComment mentionsPositiveNegative
Veo445670521178

Inclusion rule. Makers named on this page that the collection counted. Positive and negative tally the posts read, and a post arguing with itself can land in both. Order. Descending by posts.

Share of the posts read in one subreddit that name a model family, over the window collected.
Model familyShare of postsPosts counted
Veo12.5%2256

Inclusion rule. Model families the collection put a share against, out of the posts it read in that subreddit. Order. Descending by share.

Is anyone still using Veo 3.1?

r/VEO3, collected 2026-10-14

Would cheaper Veo 3.1 with free tries win you back?

r/VEO3, collected 2026-10-14

8When the other tool is the better buy

  • Failed generations are the larger line item — Veo's page is the one in this register that charges only on success, which matters most to productions whose attempt ratio is high rather than to those with a short shot list.
  • The work is already inside Google's subscription — Flow's free tier carries 50 daily credits and the paid tiers add monthly ones, so a team already paying for AI Pro is buying access it can use tonight rather than a rate card.
  • References are the way the cast is held — Characters and avatars are built from references inside Flow, which is the same mechanism this register tracks elsewhere as reference sheets and elements.

Searches like "veo 3 price" land here. Beside it: Kling AI pricing and Krea against the second.