RenderDrama

What a second of AI video costs, channel by channel

Where unused credits go on Runway

Runway publishes a different answer for each plan. Two plans wipe the allowance within a day of the billing date, the top plan carries up to a month forward, and credits bought outside a plan are stated never to expire. As of 2026-09-22.

Three plans, three answers, stacked as publishedRunway states the fate of unspent credits per plan rather than once. Standard and Pro reset the allowance within a day of the billing date. Max carries up to a month forward. Credits bought outside any plan are stated never to expire, which makes them a prepayment rather than a quota.Longest-lived at the topCredits bought separatelyNever expire. The published per-credit price is the priceactually paid.MaxUp to one month of unused credits rolls over, so a quiet monthis deferred rather than lost.Standard and ProReset within 24 hours of the billing date, so unused allowanceraises the effective rate.One rate card, three effective rates
Fig. 1 The published rate of twelve credits a second is the same on every row; what differs is how much of the allowance has to be spent before that rate is true.
Each rule Runway states about credits left unspent, and the plan it belongs to. Read from plans page on 2026-09-22.
Where it appliesWhat the plans page states
Standard and ProMonthly credits do not roll over, and reset within 24 hours of the billing date
MaxUp to one month of unused credits rolls over
Credits bought separatelyNever expire

Inclusion rule. Rules the plans page states about unspent credits. A plan the page does not treat separately gets no row of its own. Order. As the plans page orders the plans.

1Where Runway sits in this column

Unspent credits, channel by channelWhat each channel that raises the subject says happens to credits nobody spends, Runway marked. A hollow mark is a channel whose priced pages leave it open. Recorded 2026-09-22.Unspent credits, channel by channelUnused creditsHedra — Unused credits: No answer, though the FAQ asksHedraHeyGen — Unused credits: Answered by billing cycleHeyGeninvideo AI — Unused credits: A single sentence, and it is a refusalinvideo AIKling AI — Unused credits: A 180-day window, stated twiceKling AIMagnific — Unused credits: A year, with no monthly resetMagnificMorph Studio — Unused credits: No answer on the page that asksMorph StudioPika — Unused credits: A feature bullet, not a rulePikaRunway — Unused credits: Three answers, one per planRunwaySceneMixer — Unused credits: Into one balance, with no lapse dateSceneMixerSynthesia — Unused credits: Not stated where the plans are pricedSynthesia
Fig. 2 What each channel that raises the subject says happens to credits nobody spends, Runway marked. A hollow mark is a channel whose priced pages leave it open. Recorded 2026-09-22.
Unused credits, as each channel answering it has it, with Runway marked. Recorded 2026-09-22.
ChannelUnused credits
HedraNo answer, though the FAQ asks
HeyGenAnswered by billing cycle
invideo AIA single sentence, and it is a refusal
Kling AIA 180-day window, stated twice
MagnificA year, with no monthly reset
Morph StudioNo answer on the page that asks
PikaA feature bullet, not a rule
RunwayThree answers, one per plan
SceneMixerInto one balance, with no lapse date
SynthesiaNot stated where the plans are priced

Inclusion rule. Channels whose own priced pages say something about credits left unspent, including the ones that raise the question and leave it unanswered. A channel that never meters in credits has nothing to answer and is not listed. Order. Alphabetical by channel name.

2Three rules in one column is unusual, and useful

Most sellers answer this once or not at all. Runway answers it per plan, which means the published rate of twelve credits a second is not the whole price until the plan is chosen. A team on Standard that consumes half its allowance has paid twice the rate; a team on Max that consumes half carries the rest into the next month and pays the rate.

That is a real difference between two rows of the same price table, and it is published rather than inferred. Very little else in this register lets a reader work out the effective rate from the vendor's own sentences, and this is the clearest case of it.

3The reset is timed to the billing date, not the calendar

The wording puts the reset within twenty-four hours of the billing date. A production that thinks in calendar months will misjudge the deadline by up to a month depending on when the card was first charged, and nothing in the rate card flags that.

The practical move is to write the billing date into the production schedule, not the month boundary. A batch of regenerations queued for the first of the month against a plan billed on the eighteenth is spending next month's allowance, which is fine until the month it is not.

4Credits bought separately behave like a prepayment

Because they never expire, credits bought outright are the one part of this column where the published per-credit price is the price a buyer actually pays. Everything under an allowance is a rate divided by a utilisation figure nobody publishes.

That makes the split worth reading before the rate. A production with uneven delivery dates is buying a prepayment; one generating steadily every week is buying an allowance. The same figure on the same page means two different things to those two teams.

  • Unused credits
    Standard and Pro monthly credits do not roll over and reset within 24 hours of the billing date; on Max up to one month of unused credits rolls over; separately purchased credits never expireanswered per planRunway, plans page / recorded 2026-09-16
  • Published per-second price
    12 credits per second at $0.01 a credit, which is $0.12 per secondRunway, API prices / recorded 2026-09-12

5Sources

Read from the plans page published at runway.com on 2026-09-22. The rate this column sits beside is on Runway; what the register accepts as published is on the method page. The same column on other channels: Kling AI, invideo AI. Every column: what each channel publishes.