RenderDrama

What a second of AI video costs, channel by channel

What one credit costs on Hedra

Hedra never states a credit price and prints enough to derive one: fifteen dollars for fifteen hundred credits is a cent each, and seventy-five for fourteen thousand four hundred is about half that. What a credit buys is the missing half here. As of 2026-09-22.

Two published figures dividing into an implied priceThree plan prices and three monthly allowances divide out at about a cent a credit on the cheapest plan and roughly half that on the dearest, so the volume discount is legible. What a credit buys in seconds is absent, and the lifetime of a credit is raised in the FAQ and left unanswered.Plan prices$15, $30 and $75 a monthMoneyPublished exactly, on the pageMonthly allowances1,500, 5,400 and 14,400 creditsQuantity of creditsPublished exactly, on the pageAn implied cent a credit, falling to about halfWhat the division does and does not establish
Fig. 1 A buyer using half the allowance on the cheapest plan pays two cents a credit, which swamps the whole volume discount printed on the same page.
What each channel puts on its pricing pageFilled where the channel publishes something in that column, hollow where its pricing page is silent.What each channel puts on its pricing pageAs the pricing page carries itAs the pricingpage carries itPlans and allowancesPlans and allowances — As the pricing page carries it: $15 for 1,500 credits, $30 for 5,400 and $75 for 14,400Implied price of a creditImplied price of a credit — As the pricing page carries it: One cent on the cheapest plan, about half that on the dearestCredits a second of video consumesCredits a second of video consumes — As the pricing page carries it: Not stated on the pageDistance to a ledger rowDistance to a ledger row — As the pricing page carries it: One published figure, and a stated credit lifetime
Fig. 2 Filled where the channel publishes something in that column, hollow where its pricing page is silent.
Hedra's three plans, the credit price they imply, and the half that is still missing. Read from pricing page on 2026-09-22.
What is publishedAs the pricing page carries it
Plans and allowances$15 for 1,500 credits, $30 for 5,400 and $75 for 14,400
Implied price of a creditOne cent on the cheapest plan, about half that on the dearest
Credits a second of video consumesNot stated on the page
Distance to a ledger rowOne published figure, and a stated credit lifetime

Inclusion rule. Figures on the pricing page that bear on the value of a credit, including arithmetic that divides two published numbers. Nothing here is estimated from outside the page. Order. Published figures first, then what they imply, then what is missing.

1Where Hedra sits in this column

Whether the price of a credit is publishedWhether each channel that meters in credits also prints what one credit costs, Hedra marked. A hollow mark means the second half of the rate is missing. Recorded 2026-09-22.Whether the price of a credit is publishedPrice of a creditHedraHedra — Price of a credit: Not stated, but the plans divide outLumaLuma — Price of a credit: Not stated, though the rate is per secondPikaPika — Price of a credit: Not stated, and the rate is per featurePixVersePixVerse — Price of a credit: 225 credits to the dollar, one referenceRunwayRunway — Price of a credit: One cent, stated beside the rateSceneMixerSceneMixer — Price of a credit: $0.0149 down to $0.0078 by pack
Fig. 3 Whether each channel that meters in credits also prints what one credit costs, Hedra marked. A hollow mark means the second half of the rate is missing. Recorded 2026-09-22.
Price of a credit, as each channel answering it has it, with Hedra marked. Recorded 2026-09-22.
ChannelPrice of a credit
HedraNot stated, but the plans divide out
LumaNot stated, though the rate is per second
PikaNot stated, and the rate is per feature
PixVerse225 credits to the dollar, one reference
RunwayOne cent, stated beside the rate
SceneMixer$0.0149 down to $0.0078 by pack

Inclusion rule. Channels that meter in credits. Whether the credit price is published decides whether anything on that page converts into money, so both answers are listed. Order. Alphabetical by channel name.

2A divisible credit price is not a published one

Dividing a plan by its allowance gives a number, and the number is only the price paid if the whole allowance gets spent inside whatever window applies. This page does not state the window, so the division produces a floor and calls it a price.

The gap between floor and actual is not small. A buyer using half the allowance on the cheapest plan is paying two cents a credit, which is more than the volume discount between the cheapest and dearest plan on the same page.

3The volume discount is visible, which is worth something

Five times the money buys nearly ten times the credits, so the discount is real and legible without asking anyone. A buyer can tell that committing more is rewarded and by roughly how much, which many pages in this column do not allow.

It does not help with the comparison that matters. Knowing this channel's internal volume curve says nothing about how it ranks against a channel charging five cents a second, because no quantity of video is attached to either end.

4What the page is missing, in order of difficulty

Two sentences would finish it: how many credits a second of video consumes, and how long a credit lasts. The first is a product fact the seller measures daily; the second is a policy the seller has already decided, since its own FAQ raises the question.

Neither is a change to the product. Both are the difference between a page that prices a monthly subscription and a page that prices video, and this one is closer to the second than it reads.

  • What Hedra publishes instead of a rate
    Plan prices with a monthly credit allowance, and nothing stating what a credit costsHedra, pricing page / recorded 2026-09-22
  • Plan prices and monthly allowances
    $15 a month for 1,500 credits, $30 a month for 5,400 and $75 a month for 14,400Hedra, pricing page / recorded 2026-09-22

5Sources

Read from the pricing page published at hedra.com on 2026-09-22. The rate this column sits beside is on Hedra; what the register accepts as published is on the method page. The same column on other channels: SceneMixer, PixVerse. Every column: what each channel publishes.